n57166020327_9404

So in just 5 more days there will be over 35,000 people that will be crossing over Country Music Marathon Finish line.  As I will be one of the ones doing the 1/2 marathon that day for the 1st time I wanted to find out some interesting facts about Marathons.

The median times for U.S. marathoners in 2007 were 4:20 for men and 4:49 for women. In 1980, they were 3:32 and 4:03. The sport hasn’t become less competitive; it’s become more inclusive. In 1980, there were fewer charity runners, walk-run participants, and joggers. Runners of all ability levels are welcome at marathons today. And without a doubt, the sport as a whole is better for it.

ALL body types cross the finish line. You see absolutely EVERYTHING. The trend is now to do a marathon and just finish it (and this is the mind set I have as I line up Saturday and the Start line). That is the goal of the majority of the people running which is fantastic!

Here are some facts about a Full Marathon (26.2 miles)

  • It is the same distance as running the length of a football field 460 times.
  • A phrase that is used often between marathon runners, “Hitting the wall” which usually happens around the 20 mile mark.
  • A runner will burn an average of 2600 calories during a marathon which equals; 4 Big Macs, 9 Chocolate filled creamed donuts, 1 large pizza with the works, or 26 bananas.  Which one of these will you be eating while I’m running? Don’t worry, I’ll be having pizza with my other running friends once I finish but I guess I can only eat a half of a pizza since I’m only doing a half.
